Milestones of a Parent

Hello all,

Time flies when I am settling back into school & work routines, and the added adventure of seeing my firstborn off on the beginning of his solo adventure.

Well, tell you what – allowing myself the freedom to grieve when I feel very sad is healthy.   I had a big day of tears when the reality of my firstborn leaving hit me.  I have then been able to be pro-active in seeking what I needed to overcome those feelings of loneliness.  I am very blessed to have a husband who supports me in every way possible.  When I was able to recognize the desire to go to Melbourne with my son on the weekend he was leaving, I had his support and that of my son (he knew I was only staying for the weekend, and then mum would be out of his hair).

I had a wonderful time with my son and his dad.  I loved being in the big city for a couple of days!  I got to see where he will be living and where he will be going to school, which is great for me because I get a “feel” for a place when I am physically there.  His neighborhood sat well with me.  Plus we got to ride the train and tram lines that he will be taking to and from school.  Then we did the shopping for a few bits and pieces that will help him get started with cheap, but nutritious meals that he should be able to cook himself.

So I am a happy Mummy.  Still miss him, but now I can embrace the logic that tells me that this process is a normal and healthy part of him growing into a mature man and living his own life.  Though I did tell the other children when I got back home, “new rule – no one leaves home.”

Leave a Reply

