Missing him already

Image

Hi,

My firstborn son is off to the Mainland of Australia to begin his education and then hopefully career in animation.

I was determined that I wouldn’t cry on his last day with us…but alas, my emotions had other plans.  I always thought that I wouldn’t be that mother who would be all soppy over my children leaving the nest.  I want the best for them.  I want them to spread their wings and fly.  (But perhaps there was an unknown desire to fly with them).

Or perhaps it is the hit-you-in-the-face knowledge that this is the beginning of the end.  The end of seeing this beloved person as much as I want.  Of being involved in their Life.  I know I am sounding over dramatic, but at this moment in time, this is how it FEELS.

Image

So for you young mums, please take heed, with the love I intend…

Time does go so quickly.

When I was surrounded with babies and toddlers, I couldn’t hear that message from older mothers.  I was knee deep in wee, poop, mashed up food in my hair, barely time to have a shower, let alone coordinate my outfit, and these older mothers were smiling affectionately at my little mess-makers longing for the those times again.  I would smile on the outside and wish privately on the inside for the time to move along quicker, because I felt like I was drowning.

But here I am on the other side and you know what?  It does go quick, especially once they hit school.  So… try to ignore the mess, have lots of adventures with them and savour the moments, good and bad, because they PASS.

One positive out of this is to remind me to make the most of each and every day with those I love and love me.  So on that note, I am bidding you “G’day” and “See u”.

Until next time,

Laura

2 thoughts on “Missing him already

  1. Oh – what a journey. I cry just thinking of it. Mine are still young and still at each other’s throats, and still driving me crazy every day. Luckily, I’m a bit of a poet, and see all the beauty that they shower me with on a day to day basis as well. What a mixed craziness is this motherhood!

Leave a Reply

