Aussie Pub Dinner Made at Home

Morning from Down Under.

Last night I made a Chicken, Mushroom and Cheese Pie with Spicy Baked Wedges and Garden Salad.  I also made a Garlic Aioli sprinkled with fresh chives from the garden.

Image

I really enjoyed the process, plus I had my teenage son helping me, which is quality time I enjoy.  I sprinkled the pies with egg and a Tasmanian Pepperberry Spice.  I also thought it would be interesting to serve them still in their pots.  After all the creativity doesn’t end when the oven turns off.  The dish needs to be visually appealing as well, don’t you think?

The pies were big enough for each one of us, plus after eating my salad and wedges, I could only manage half a pie.  You could use a muffin tin as well.  But I had bought these little spring form pans for a different project and they had then been sitting in drawers. (They measure 4″ or 10cm in diameter.)  I wanted to find more uses for them.  I think I have!  It was a treat for all of us!

Chicken, Mushroom & Cheese Pie

1 Leek, finely sliced,  2 garlic cloves, minced,  200g mushrooms, finely sliced, 2 TBsp olive oil, salt and pepper to season, 1 Tsp sage,  550g chicken mince,  250g light cream cheese,  3 sheets shortcrust pastry, 3 sheets puff pastry, 1 egg, beaten, cracked black pepper to sprinkle on pies.

Preheat oven to 210*C.  Put leek, garlic, and mushroom in a large frying with oil, set over high heat and season with salt and pepper.  Cook until well softened.  Mix in sage, mince and cheese.

Spray a 12 hole muffin tin or 6 larger spring form pans with oil.  Line each with shortcrust pastry.  Allow pastry to overhang edges.  Fill holes with chicken and mushroom mixture, then top with rounds of puff pastry.  Press edges with fork to seal.  Brush tops with egg and sprinkle with black pepper.  Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden and crisp.

Leave a Reply

